

Chairman: Chris King 24 Beresford Close Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 5UN 07740 277014

Secretary: Mark Trotter 3 Muriel Road Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 7TE 07764 147230

Hon. Presidents: T Tait, S O'Boyle, G Hayden, D Toms

Minutes of Annual General Meeting Monday 24th July 2023 8pm at The Falcon, Waterlooville

Attended by: Rob Beacher, MJ Etherington, Mark Trotter (Secretary), Mick Hall (Treasurer, Fixtures & Competition Secretary), Chris King (Chairperson) PLUS Captains/representatives from the teams listed below:

Falcon, Waterlooville Sports Bar D, Rainbow A, Waterlooville Sports Bar B, Lost Boys (Phoenix B), Cowplain Social, Fox & Hounds, Hampshire Rose A, Hampshire Rose B, Boarhunt Social, Phoenix A and 2 potential team from Centurion and George & Falcon

1 Treasurers Report: The League remains fully solvent. Income was £1106 with expenses of £1938.

2 Key Dates and fines:

Team Registration Deadline will be Monday 21st August 2023

Pre Season SGM will now be a committee meeting as all paperwork will be available online. Teams are welcome to attend but are NOT required to. The SGM will take place on Monday 4th September 2023

Start of season is expected to be Tuesday 19th September 2023 but remains flexible depending upon the number of entries received

Competition entries deadline will be Monday 25th September 2023

11 teams out of 12 attended from the previous Winter Season. One team (Rainbow B) will likely not be entering this year but 2 new teams (Centurion and George & Falcon) have expressed interest in joining and were in attendance. Zero non attendance fines were issued. Teams were reminded that the cost per player will increase to £10.00 and any team that incurred fines during the last season will need to cover those fines as part of their registration to ensure the retention fees are at the required levels. This impacts The Rainbow B should they intend to enter a team.

3 Nominations for committee members:

Chris King was approved to continue on the committee as chairman proposed and seconded by 2 representatives from the teams.

Mark Trotter was approved to continue on the committee as secretary proposed and seconded by 2 representatives from the teams.

Adam Goodyear was proposed and seconded by 2 representatives from the teams to join the committee.



Chairman: Chris King 24 Beresford Close Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 5UN 07740 277014

Secretary: Mark Trotter 3 Muriel Road Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 7TE 07764 147230

Hon. Presidents: T Tait, S O'Boyle, G Hayden, D Toms

Mark Harris has resigned from the committee.

4 **Proposals:** There was 6 proposals as follows:

Proposal 1 – Remove 31st December as signing on deadline and instead allow new signings throughout the season. New signings will be eligible to play on Tuesday provided the form and fees are received by a committee member on the Sunday before – This was APPROVED by a vote of 11 for and 0 against.

Proposal 2 – Change rules from World rules to International rules – This was REJECTED by a vote of 3 for and 8 against.

Proposal 3 – Change number of players required for a team from 6 to 5 – This was REJECTED by a vote of 11 against and 0 for.

Proposal 4 – Change match format from 8 Singles and 2 Doubles to 10 Singles – This was REJECTED by a vote of 11 against and 0 For.

Proposal 5 – In order to help the league remain solvent Increase signing on coast from \pm 7.50 to \pm 10 and reduce trophies for Cup and Plate to Winners only – This was APPROVED by a vote of 11 for and 0 against.

Proposal 6 – Now the rules for the next season are agreed the committee request the opportunity to amend the constitution during the season to ensure all changes above and rule clarifications made during the previous season can be addressed and put into practice for this season without further approval. Formal approval will then be addressed at the following years AGM – This was APPROVED by a vote of 11 for and 0 against.

5 Next Meeting: Will be the SGM at the Falcon at 20:00 on Monday 4th September where the number of teams will be known and the structure (i.e. number of divisions and confirmation of which team is in each division) will be agreed by the committee.



Chairman: Chris King 24 Beresford Close Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 5UN 07740 277014

Secretary: Mark Trotter 3 Muriel Road Waterlooville Hampshire PO7 7TE 07764 147230

Hon. Presidents: T Tait, S O'Boyle, G Hayden, D Toms

Finally, as a reminder the website <u>http://meonvalleypoolleague.com</u> has been updated and will continue to be updated. Please use this as your first port of call for any documents etc. The committee remind ALL Captains that minutes of all meetings are on the website and captains should check this regularly and NOT rely on emails. The website is there for everybody to use and includes updated league tables, results, forms, constitution and monthly minutes. The onus is on the captains and venues now to ensure they read and understand the meeting minutes as posted. If you have any suggestions for improvements please let a member of the committee know.